NEW DELHI: Tech giant Google announced new privacy features coming in Android 12 at its annual developer conference -- I/O 2021. Google is now adding an extra password verification feature to the My Activity page of the company.
The My Activity Page of Google will ask for password verification before showing all your account usage and interactions.
Presently, the My Activity page on the web will quickly load a lot of activity that “helps Google make services more useful for you, like helping you rediscover the things you’ve searched for, read, and watched. You can see and delete your activity using the controls on this page."
As reported by 9to5Google, some users reported that now when they are opening the My Activity Page, they first see a prompt which asks them to add more security to the service by adding an extra verification.
Google says, "If you turn on extra verification Google will make sure it’s really you before you can see or delete your full history on My Activity. This can help keep your history safer on shared devices.
This setting only applies to My Activity. Your history may still appear in other Google products."
Once you select the My Activity option, you will be asked to enter your Google Account password to set it. After this, the top half of the page will normally load but the full history will be blocked and to access you will have to first verify that it's you. You will now be directed to a standard sign-in page.
“Your Web & App Activity includes the things you do on Google services, like Maps, Search, and Play. It can also include things you do on sites, apps, and devices that use Google services or your voice and audio recordings. The activity you keep is used to give you more personalized experiences, like faster searches and more helpful app and content recommendations,” adds Google.